Cost Of Winning


Some people just want to win,
At all costs-
In competitions,
In business, and even
In arguments.

And so …
What value is the reward,
When opponents are humiliated,
Livelihood of rivals ended,
And friendship lost?

Sometimes …
Allowing others to win,
Delivers the greatest prize,
By unlocking the nobility within.

When others have a chance to win,
Rivalry is defused,
And animosity is laid to rest.

In the end,
Harmony prevails.
And what better world to create,
Than a planet filled with peace?

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lillian
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 06:53:56

    Very well written …..i like it

    Reply

  2. therooflesschurch
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 13:54:43

    Thanks for this. Perfect timing. I was just thinking about this very thought while angrily washing dishes. I was forcing myself to keep my mouth shut about something I knew I was right about and talking to God about my feelings. Then I remembered that I had seen I had a post from you in my email. Right on time. Now I am smiling and grateful that by God’s grace I kept my mouth shut–even though it felt like being punched in the gut.

    Reply

  3. therooflesschurch
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 13:59:55

    Reblogged this on The Roofless Church’s Blog and commented:
    I feel very certain that the way we gauge success is changing in this world and I think that what this person is saying may give the shift a boost.

    Reply

  4. ivonprefontaine
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 14:12:33

    Reblogged this on Teacher as Transformer and commented:
    We talk about a kinder, gentler world, but is it happening? It is not just about letting others win. It is also about being gracious and humble in our lives. Leaders need to find new ways to allow others to rise up and be part of the solutions in a complex and messy world.

    Reply

  5. lenwilliamscarver
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 14:17:25

    God keep your arm around my shoulder and your hand OVER my mouth…I said something this morn that I had to apologize for..it was tone more than what I said but this sure made me think..so thank you.

    Reply

  6. luciustheninja
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 14:57:06

    My thoughts exactly. I am a big proponent of harmony and my friends often get mad when I try to diffuse a fight. I just think that everyone feels better when we can all win at some point.

    Reply

  7. sarahpotterwrites
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 15:27:49

    Being constantly competitive is a lonely business and leaves behind it a sour legacy.

    Reply

  8. Lori DiNardi
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 16:07:49

    Losing a few times actually helped me to figure out how to do it better the next time, and eventually propelled me into winning. I guess I’m trying to say that sometimes losing isn’t such a bad thing, depending on the situation. I learned from it, and it taught me how to use my divinity within. If someone gave away a win to me, I’d feel degraded, like they didn’t think I was smart enough, or strong enough to do it for myself. Or perhaps, they thought that I could never figure out how to use my own God-given (divine) inheritance. But, that’s just me.

    Reply

  9. belasbrightideas
    Dec 06, 2012 @ 22:43:29

    Collaboration, not competition. Yes. Are we humans capable of this on a collective scale? I certainly hope so.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

